Alliant Supports LGBT Pride Parades Across California

Alliant International University will participate in three LGBT pride parades during the summer of 2012. By choosing to participate in pride parades in Los Angeles, San Francisco and San Diego, Alliant hopes that employees and students from its other campuses in Sacramento, Fresno, Irvine, Mexico City, Hong Kong and Japan will decide to follow suit. These events will help Alliant take one more step towards developing campus communities that both support and appreciate diversity.   
 
Alliant branded  pride parade t-shirts will be made available to all Alliant participants and their immediate family members. Those who would like to participate must sign-up for the event in advance.
 
For general questions about the events, contact Gloria Mercier at gmercier@alliant.edu or 858- 635-4537. To sign up and order t-shirts use the registration and release form
 
Parade Information:
 
Los Angeles LGBT Pride Parade
Date: Sunday, June 10, 2012
Time: 11:00 AM
Location: The parade route is 1.3 miles and begins at Santa Monica Blvd. and Crescent Heights Blvd., proceeds west ending at Santa Monica Blvd. and Robertson Blvd. Route time is approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes.
More info: http://www.lapride.org/
Event contacts:
Co-chair – Tom Moore | tmoore@alliant.edu | 626-270-332
Co-chair – Cristina Magalhaes | cmagalhaes2@alliant.edu | 626-270-3348
 
San Francisco LGBT Pride Parade
Date: Sunday, June 24, 2012
Time: 10:30 AM
Location: The Parade kicks off at 10:30 AM at Market Street & Beale and ends at Market & 8th Street in downtown San Francisco.
More info: http://www.sfpride.org/ 
Event contacts:
Chair Alexis Shoemate | ashoemate@alliant.edu | 415-955-2038
Back-up Chair – Sheila Henderson | shenderson@alliant.edu | 415-955-2030 
 
San Diego LGBT Pride Parade
Date: Saturday, July 21, 2012  
Time: 11:00 AM
Location: The parade begins at University Ave. and Normal Street, proceeds west on University Avenue to 6th Avenue, turns south on 6th Avenue, ending at Balboa Drive and Upas Street.
Route: 1.5 miles | 2 hours
More info: http://sdpride.org/parade.htm
Event contacts:
Chair – Kevin Jerred | kjerred2@alliant.edu | 858-635-4847
Back up Chair – Craig Brewer | cbrewer@alliant.edu | 949-303-9768